top of page

OCTOBER 27, 2018 - "Masters of the Medium"


                    BAUMER STRING QUARTET

                                                    Nathan Olson, Violin

                                                    Aaron Requiro, Violin

                                                    John T. Posadas, Viola

                                                    David Requiro, Cello




                             Schubert Quartettsatz in C minor, D. 703

                             Tsontakis Quartet No. 3, “Coraggio”

                             Schulhoff Three Pieces from Five Pieces for String Quartet

                                              Piece 3: Czech Folk Music

                                              Piece 4. Tango

                                              Piece 5: Tarantella

                             Beethoven Quartet No. 8 in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2

Formed in 2003 when its players were students at the Cleveland Institute of Music, the Baumer Quartet has distinguished itself among audiences and critics for the technical finesse, warmth of expressionism and cutting edge performances. This artistry will be on display in a concert of works featuring Masters of the Medium of the 18th, 20th, and 21st century.


The opening work for the second concert of the 2018-2019 season was composed by Franz Schubert in 1820. The Quartettsatz in C minor is the first movement of a string quartet that Schubert never completed. It was listed as his String Quartet no. 12 on publication.

A new composer to the CMSFW repretoire is George Tsontakis, an American conductor and composer.  The Quartet will be performing his Quartet No. 3 which he composed in 1986.


This program also introduces a second new composer to the CMSFW repretoire, Erwin Schuloff, a Czech composer and pianist. His career was cut short by his death in a Nazi concentration camp in 1942. On this program, the Baumer Quartet performs three of Schuloff's Five Pieces for String Quartet.  The piece premiered in 1924 and was dedicated to Darius Milhaud.  

Beethoven's Quartet No. 8 in E minor was the second of three of his "Razumovsky" cycle of string quartets, and is a product of his "middle" period. He published it in 1808.  The three Razumovsky quartets were the result of a commission by the Russian ambassador in Vienna, Count Andreas Razumovsky.

bottom of page