"Not Your Parents' Chestnuts"

February 11, 2017’s concert by the Amernet string quartet was truly exceptional. The Bartok#3, the Romance and the D minor quartet by Dvořák were remarkably played, and I will not comment on them further and let the critics speak.

I would like to comment briefly on the transcription of the Appassionata by Jeffery Briggs. This piano sonata is a monumental work of Beethoven’s middle or heroic period. Beethoven thought it was one of his best sonatas, but he never called it Appassionata (it was so named by his publisher). This piece has more tragic and tempestuous undertones than romance.

I was very impressed by Mr. Briggs, his interview, his work, and his background as pianist and composer. I was deeply moved by the beautiful performance by the Amernet. Their playing emphasized the nature of the music even more than the piano. I found the andante movement especially well expressed by the strings with its slow march and sadness. This contrasted with the almost volcanic eruption of the last movement that ends so tragically.

I also enjoyed meeting the musicians and the composer. It was indeed a great evening.

15 views0 comments

Chamber Music Society of Fort Worth

2501 Parkview Dr., Suite 317E

Fort Worth, Texas 76102


Tel:  817-877-3003

Fax:  817-382-6171



THE MISSION OF THE CHAMBER MUSIC SOCIETY OF FORT WORTH is to promote and present the highest quality chamber music for our city and region, reflecting innovation, creativity in programming, and selection of superior musical artists. To build an informed audience for chamber music, now and in the future, through educational programs in the schools, with our concert series, and through the media.


© 2020The Chamber Music Society of Fort Worth.  All rights reserved.

The Chamber Music Society of Fort Worth is a 501(c)(3) tax deductible organization under the laws of the United States of America.