top of page

SEPTEMBER 22, 2018 - "Welcome to My Music Room"


                    DÍAZ TRIO with GLORIA CHIEN

                                                               Andres Càrdenés, Violin

                                                    Roberto Díaz, Viola

                                                    Andres Díaz, Cello


                                                    Gloria Chien, Piano


                             Schubert Trio in B flat Major, D.581

                             Schnittke String Trio

                             Fauré Piano Quartet No. 1, in C minor, Op. 15


Taiwanese-born pianist Gloria Chien joins the Díaz Trio in the opening concert presented by the Chamber Music Society of Fort Worth.  The three artists who make up the Díaz Trio, Andrés Càrdenés, violin, Roberto Díaz, viola, and his brother Andrés Díaz, cello, have all appeared individually and as the Díaz Trio on CMSFW concerts in the past.  The trio is internationally revered as one of finest chamber ensembles performing today.  Gloria Chien, selected by the Boston Globe as one of its Superior Pianists of the year, “… who appears to excel in everything.”, is making her first appearance on a CMSFW concert.  The intimacy of the works offered invites the audience to enjoy the salon experience (thus the title “Welcome to My Music Room) these composers enjoyed during their lifetimes.

The concert opens with the Schubert Trio in B flat Major.  Schubert wrote this string trio in September 1817 when he was 20 years old.  Although he composed in the shadow of Beethoven, and died at a very young age (31), he has become one of the best-loved figures in the history of music.

The second work on the program was composed by Alfred Schnittke in 1985 for the 100th anniversary of Austrian composer Alban Berg’s birth.  This first version was scored for violin, viola and violoncello. This is the first time the work has been performed by the Chamber Music Society of Fort Worth.  Schnittke wrote a second version for piano trio in 1992 and dedicated it to Alexander Popatov, the doctor who twice saved the composer’s life. 

The Díaz Trio is joined by Gloria Chien for Fauré's Piano Quartet No. 1, in C minor, Op. 15, for the final work on the program.  Fauré begin the work in 1876 and there are some hints in the slow movement of the emotional turmoil of Fauré's life at the time of the composition.  He had just been rejected by the love of his life, Marianne Viardot, and began writing the quartet during the last stages of their relationship.

Gloria Chien, Piano
bottom of page